top of page
  • Writer's pictureOshi the Clown

Just the way you are

Updated: Jan 12, 2020

When I clown, I feel it is a great privilege to be the one who can see and hear the person before me. It's not that we don't see people every day.


When I'm wearing my red nose, I "see" and "hear" differently.

As Oshi the clown, I am given the opportunity to observe a situation in its entirety, to listen and hear what is being said verbally -- and what is being said non-verbally through body language, facial expressions and movements. A clown needs to pay full attention in order to react, or interact. That is a basic principle of clowning. But even more importantly, as a clown, it is my goal -- and something I see as of the utmost importance -- that everyone I meet feels there is someone who sees them and hears them and is listening to them just the way they are. Indeed, I believe clowning principles improve all aspects of communication: seeing, hearing, listening, acknowledging, etc. Truly, the possibilities clowning principles can have in making a difference on/in communication are endless.




Update: Oshi clowned in schools from 2018-2019. She gives talks and blogs about this out-of-the box experience.

 
19 views0 comments
bottom of page