top of page
  • Writer's pictureOshi the Clown

Red nose smile

Updated: Feb 23, 2020

I carry a red nose with me in my backpack.

When the energy is right, I put it on.

Sometimes for a photo.

Sometimes just because.

Sometimes with friends who also trained as clowns.

(Photo: Sol and Oshi in Tel Aviv)


And when I put on my nose, the dialogue around me integrates an element of play.

There is playfulness.

I may be at a café and the serving staff will suddenly smile. Or laugh. There will be better air flow. We all breathe better when we’re playing.

I may be at an outdoor market and the people around me will suddenly smile. Or laugh. There will be better air flow, here, too. Because we all breathe better when it’s fun.

I may meet an important person. And, upon hearing that I studied clowning, s/he will ask me to put on my nose. And we’ll laugh. And there will be better air flow. We all breathe better when fun is added to communication.

Sometimes we’ll take a selfie.

Sometimes I’ll be asked to be in a selfie.

Sometimes we’ll just enjoy the moment of playfulness and not document it.

My red nose impacts communication in all settings. It is fun to never know exactly what the reaction will be. But there will be a reaction. And an interaction. And usually it will end in a smile.




 
23 views0 comments
bottom of page