top of page
  • Writer's pictureOshi the Clown

What do you do that you love?

It’s a simple question. What do you do that you love?

It was asked. I answered three things.

My answers did and did not surprise me. They are three things that I love to do. And they are three of the things I do.

But there are other things that I do that did not make the Top Three.

And the reason my answers surprised me a bit is because I would have thought some of the other things I do, would have rolled off my tongue first.

And that's exactly the point: I would have thought.

The question and how it was asked – answer quickly, without thinking or without letting the mind overthink – ties back to the belief in psychology that quick answers are usually the more honest answers.

“The idea has always been that we have a divided mind — an intuitive, animalistic type and a more rational type,” John Protzko, lead author of a paper on socially desirable responding in Psychological Science, told Science2.0. “And the more rational type is assumed to always be constraining the lower order mind. If you ask people to answer quickly and without thinking, it’s supposed to give you sort of a secret access to that lower order mind.”

So, without thinking, What do you do that you love?



This post was originally published on the blog of Viva Sarah Press.

5 views0 comments
bottom of page